Posted on Sunday, December 6th, 2015 6:44 pm


Easthampton City Arts+ announces that Eileen Corbeil, owner of White Square - Fine Books and Art, is the recipient of the 2015 ECA+ Debra Tautznik Volunteer Award. She will be presented the award at the 9th annual Light Up the Holiday Bash on December 10th.

The annual ECA+ Debra Tautznik Volunteer Award (formerly known as the ECA+ Volunteer Award) has been presented since 2011 to those who have generously dedicated their time and energy to Easthampton City Arts+ initiatives. The ECA+ Coordinating Committee selected Eileen Corbeil for her continual commitment to provide literary events and resources to the Easthampton community.

Eileen Corbeil has been an active member of the ECA+ Literary Subcommittee encouraging the creation of the Easthampton BookFest in 2015 that brought 2000 people to the City to over 20 literary events. She shepherded Lore, a fundraising event for ECA+ that invited the popular podcast creator and author Aaron Mahnke to Easthampton. She also actively contributes as a member of the Cottage Street Cultural District Subcommittee. Each month, she brings a diverse selection of authors to her bookstore for readings and events. She has a passion to foster the talents of writers and artists and is committed to the cultural development of the city of Easthampton.

Corbeil is the owner of White Square - Fine Books & Art on Cottage Street, which celebrates its 5th anniversary this month and was profiled in the NYC-based Literary Hub last June. She is treasurer of the Southern New England Antiquarian Booksellers association. She graduated from Smith College in 1986 with a degree in history and held senior-level positions in HR and operations management at Smith College, UMass Amherst, and Commonwealth Industries (KY) for over 20 years. Corbeil served as president and coach for the Easthampton girls’ softball league from 1982-1994 while raising four children with her husband Randy. They relocated to Easthampton from southern VT (where they still have deep roots) about 40 years ago.

This year, the ECA+ Coordinating Committee changed the name of the volunteer award to the "ECA+ Debra Tautznik Volunteer Award" in memory of Debra Tautznik — a longstanding member of the ECA+ creative community, dedicated volunteer, and advocate for the city. Past recipients of the award have included Susan Lapointe, Mayor Michael Tautznik, Jim Zarvis, and Gary and Kathy LaCroix.

Find out about calls to artists, member exhibitions, ECA+ news, and more.
Subscribe now!


Katja Fournier